Ancient Guardians: The Uninvited, Author rambles, Random

The Long day is over…is it really only Monday?

I will admit that writing a book is definitely the easy part. (For Me) I can take my characters wherever I want them to go, I have fun with them and most of all, I get to escape with them!

When I decided to publish Ancient Guardians: The Legacy of the Key, I definitely had my work cut out for me. This is where editing comes in to play. Without an editor to go over a manuscript, and you decide to publish, well that could lead to very traumatic reviews from readers. I understand and appreciate every book I have read now, knowing that there was an editor behind a great author’s work. I would have never had the respect for an editor as I do, now that I am a published author.

It isn’t easy though, as a writer we fall in love with certain pieces of our writing. Particular scenes that we know we can’t let go of. Then the editor (who is there to help polish your book) comes in and says: “Lose it!” This is one of the toughest parts of editing, and where authors have to detach from their writing and passion for their story. Today was a pretty tough cut for me…but after 45 minutes of the editor convincing me that all I was doing was slowing/bogging down the book, I finally gave in and cut one of my favorite scenes. The editor was right, but it was still hard to let it go!!!

Editing on every level stresses this little writer out! *sigh* But, as I did with my first book, I’ll make the cuts and we’ll have a published book soon enough!

I decided to share this song, because after months of being overwhelmed editing (and missing deadlines) of Ancient Guardians: The Uninvited (Book 2)…I put on my iPod and this song randomly rotated in and it was exactly what I needed to hear!

“The Long Day is Over” (I wonder if my editor is thinking the same thing, she was pretty fed up with fighting with me there at the end 😉

So with that all said, I think I’ll go cook dinner now and watch Iron Man 🙂

Leave a Reply

