Author rambles, Book 3, Random

A night to remember…Book 3

image
Ancient Guardians Book 3

Love is in the air…

In the third book of the Ancient Guardians series, this was one of my favorite chapters to write. It was the first draft, of course.

What is the quote; “Write with the door closed, edit with the door open?”

And here I am…with the door open…

I have done A LOT of research on how to write a ‘love scene’ between two characters in the genre my book is in. As a writer, you have a lot to consider with who your audience is and you must respect that in your writing.
The Ancient Guardians series follows a young college girl who is swept into the enchanting dimension of Pemdas. The man (Levi Oxley, The Emperor’s son and also the man who served as her guardian on Earth) that she slowly becomes ‘taken with’ and eventually (spoiler alert) falls in love with and he admits his love for her as well! (Given the ages of these characters, this book is technically not a young adult series.) But, I have young adults reading it and enjoying it)

In the first two books of this series, I got to play with the two main character’s affection toward each other…and it was definitely fun writing those scenes! However, we are now in Book 3!
When I first started thinking about how I would ‘take on the writing’ of their night of…well, let’s just say, Passion! I literally asked the question; why did I do this to myself? Why did I have to make two characters fall in love and build up to their ‘Wedding night?’ (Maybe I should just make them break up? Ha! Just kidding…might as well end the series there ;+}) Not happening…there are too many adventures ahead of us).

This is where I went to other Author’s and their blogs for advice! (They’ve been down this road)

I have learned quite a bit from these excellent authors and how I should approach this particular chapter without embarrassing my characters, the readers or myself as the author. This series has attracted readers from ages 13 and up to ages 70!
Writing explicit scenes is definitely not my personal style (there are plenty of other books out there, by great authors, to help appease the reading audience that would enjoy that, thank goodness for that ;-}) But, as the author of the Ancient Guardians, I’ve created a different standard with my characters and also a much different style of my writing to show the heated passion between these two characters…and now, in Book 3, we are bringing it up a notch. How will SL Morgan approach this? Very carefully!

So in my research, two questions by these helpful authors were asked of me!
1. Do you chicken out, and kick the door closed and leave it a mystery to your readers? 🐣🐓🐣

My answer: I can’t necessarily do that, I’ve enjoyed building up to this special moment for the readers! Why would I give them more passionate scenes in previous books, tease them, and then just shut the door on them when the moment FINALLY arrives between my two little love birds? So kicking the door closed is definitely the easiest way out…but I don’t operate, or write, that way! I LOVE a good challenge in my writing…and I’m about to take it on!

Second Question:

2. Do you give the readers just enough, and let their imaginations do the rest….
My answer: Yes, that is exactly what I do. It’s a special moment my between characters. Believe me, they have waited for it, and endured through quite a bit to achieve their special night!

So, here I go….writing a scene that is respectful to my characters, readers and the novel series. This challenge will be fun, exciting and hopefully after the editor and I have approved it…it will be well received by its reading audience!

I have to look at it all this way…

If I can sweep readers into a captivating dimension and help them escape reality with the other two books, I think I can find the proper words to deliver the fun, loving and passionate romance of these two characters without making readers cringe!
Now, I’m off to take my personal challenge!
Happy reading, writing & editing.
Here we go……
Ancient Guardians: Book 3
A night to remember!”

image

SL Morgan

Leave a Reply

